Chronicles of a Completely Unperfect Mom

September 7, 2009

Makeover Monday #2

Filed under: Attitude Makeover — Mom @ 8:06 pm

Every Monday, I’m going to write a list of 5 positive things in my life.  At least in the U.S., we have a tendency to view Mondays as depressing.  It’s the first day of the work week for many, we have a weekend hangover of sorts.  This is a chance to change perspective and view every Monday as a fresh start, an attitude makeover!

  1. I have some of the best friends out there!  Even though we only see each other a few times each year, it’s like we haven’t missed a step when we’re together.
  2. I have an awesome family!  Last week, my dad and step-mom took Khaila overnight when they knew I was working long hours.  My brother calls just to say hi and to see how I’m doing, even though he has his own busy life.
  3. Khaila is back in school!  Because of going down to one income, we had pulled her out of daycare.  Her attitude took a serious turn for the worse.  I’m hoping that now that we have her back in part-time, some of that will resolve itself.  More importantly, she’s happy!
  4. I am feeling a bit more in control of my life.  Every day, I’m working a little more on being in control of my own emotions and actions.
  5. My children are healthy!  I’m reminded of this today as the MDA telethon is taking place.  A friend whose son is about six months older than Khaila was recently diagnosed with MD.  I’ve only known one other person in my life who was affected by MD and remember the struggles he faced in school.  Having a child who my child has played with facing those same struggles makes me thank God that we have two healthy children.  It also makes me thankful for the telethon that annoyed me as a child.  With the donations they receive, we can pray that someday, parents will not face the issues my friend will face in the coming years.

Give it a try, post a list of five things you’re thankful for!  I’d love it if you link back to your list!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

