Chronicles of a Completely Unperfect Mom

August 29, 2009

A Welcome Change

Filed under: All About Mommy,Attitude Makeover,Growing Up,Randomness — Mom @ 9:07 pm

Being unperfect, I have no problem admitting that there are times I miss my pre-baby life.  I wouldn’t trade being a mom for anything in the world, but it stings just a little when friends are going out to parties and I’m at home with the kids.  Tonight, it was a high school friend coming to town.

On my way home from work, I had an overwhelming urge to get home to my kids.  I worked six days this week, they were stressful days, and now I’m done for the week.  I have one day off, and then another six day week, including four days at an event we’re catering and two days finishing up the planning.  There’s some family drama going on right now that has me stressed. I have a package that’s MIA, somewhere in the USPS system (so much for 2-3 days!).  All of this combined to make me want nothing more than to get home to snuggle with my kids.

I do feel guilty for not going out with my friend, even though I would have been horribly late.  On the other hand, there’s nothing better than giving the little man his last bottle and having him fall asleep in my arms.  Well, unless you throw eating pizza, snuggling, and watching “Enchanted” with the four year old!

I’d much rather experience friend guilt than mommy guilt.  It wasn’t always that way, I used to feel I deserved the break and had no problem with the occasional night out.  Now, I can’t stand having Khaila away for more than a day (as I learned from a recent 2 night overnight with Nana) and I’d rather be home with them than out with friends.  This is a cool feeling!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

