Chronicles of a Completely Unperfect Mom

July 21, 2009

Tackling It From a Different Angle

Filed under: All About Mommy,Attitude Makeover,Tackle it Tuesday — Mom @ 11:07 pm

I went back to working fulltime when RJ was only 2.5 weeks old.  My job is stressful, I had double mommy guilt, we had taken Khaila out of daycare, the list of contributors to a downward spiral goes on and on.  Soon, every aspect of my life was suffering from my negativity.

For this week’s “Tackle It Tuesday”, I am not choosing a household project, although that’s part of what has happened.  I’ve decided my tackle for the week is my attitude.  Yesterday, I sat at work dreading what was to come.  It was the calm before the storm and I was sure something big was building up.  Then and there, I decided that I needed to change my outlook.  I decided I was going to have a good day no matter what came my way.

First, the ice maker at work broke, meaning I had to call the boss for authorization to fix it.  Next, I found out we had to order four times what I was authorized to order if we wanted the price break.  This meant another call to the boss to tell him I was spending money that doesn’t come in as quickly as we need or would like.  While this already sounds like a true Monday, it was only starting.

Next, I had two disgruntled employees working with me.  I hate when I’m trying to stay positive and I have so much negativity around, but I managed.  After that, I realized I might not have anyone coming in for the evening shift.  When I called the employee who was scheduled and had called off his previous two shifts, I was told he had car problems and that he could come in even though the wheels may fall off his car at any time.  Since driving IS his job, I told him we’d get by without him.

After all of that and a nasty bug landing on my head, I was still letting it all roll off my back.  Not only that, but I had more energy than I’ve had in a long time.  I came home, cranked up the music, and cleaned the living room.  This may not seem huge to many people, but I had a serious case of CHAOS going on in there.  For those who have never tried FLYLady, that’s “Can’t Have Anyone Over Syndrome”.  By the time I was done, I loved the room enough to post a picture on Facebook.  After that, I made dinner, loaded the dishwasher, and did two more loads of laundry.

This morning, I realized the power of yesterday’s day of positivity.  I woke up refreshed, ready to get to work, ready to enjoy the morning with my family.  Today was day two of my attitude makeover.  I may not be a changed person yet, but I’m definitely changing.  I will always be unperfect, but I’m hoping to face this phase of my journey head-on and come out a better person for it.

I dare anyone to tackle their attitude and try to get through a day or two refusing to let anything get them down!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

