Chronicles of a Completely Unperfect Mom

May 24, 2009

Grocery Shopping as a New Mom

Filed under: Cooking with Kids,Recipes — Mom @ 2:02 pm
Tags: , ,

groceriesA few days ago, I walked into the grocery store to pick up something for lunch.  When I got there, you would think I had walked into some exotic market in a foreign country.  I couldn’t figure out what I was picking up, nothing registered as something suitable, and I wound up at the deli counter for some ham and a loaf of bread.  At that moment, I realized I needed a plan before I attempted to do “actual” grocery shopping for the family.

Enter my new best friend.  The folks at Kraft have taken the time to develop a wonderful website that not only has recipes for every meal and occasion, they also have a “Budget Wise” section for those of us who are trying to pinch pennies.  In that section, they have several collections of meals to get you through the week.  

My least favorite part of meal planning has always been trying to coordinate meals so there isn’t carry-over  or planning the next week with my head in the fridge to see what I have to use up.  This week, I chose one of their “bags”, printed the shopping list, and I’m going to make the meals from their menu.  Not only will it be nice to have fewer random ingredients left next weekend, it’s about time to try some new recipes!  

Having everything on the website reduces the need to think even further, something I’ve decided is essential in the first few weeks of having a newborn in the house!  I spent half of what I used to spend and know that I have everything we need for the week.

1 Comment »

  1. That sounds like a great site. I hope you have a wonderful Memorial Day weekend.

    Comment by Healthy Moms — May 24, 2009 @ 5:34 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

