Chronicles of a Completely Unperfect Mom

May 21, 2009

The Little Man is Here!

Filed under: My Little Man — Mom @ 12:47 pm
Tags:

RJ

Richard James Joseph Heinzer
Born May 14, 2009 at 10:54am
Weight: 6lb 11oz
Length: 17.5 inches

RJ decided to be like his sister and come early.  In fact, both of my children were born at 36 weeks and 2 days gestation due to pre-eclampsia.  Unlike his Khaila, this pregnancy didn’t have me on bedrest for 8 weeks.  I went in Tuesday for my regular appointment, had high blood pressure and trace protein in my urine so they sent me home after some bloodwork to do the 24 hour test.  

The next day, I had a wicked headache, which is something you have to be careful of when you have pre-eclampsia, so I called the doctor.  He wanted me to come in, so we took Khaila to her grandparents and headed up to the hospital.  After sitting around for a few hours waiting for bloodwork results to come back, my OB came in and said it was time to deliver.  He doesn’t like to induce, but he also doesn’t like to take chances when it comes to the lives of everyone involved.

At 10:22pm, they started the pitocin and we were hopeful that everything would be over in a few hours.  With Khaila, my induction went better than could be expected, and everything I had been told led me to believe that this time would be even quicker.  WRONG!!  She was a 7 hour labor start to finish, he wound up being 13 hours.  The good news is that only 7 minutes of that was pushing!  Apparently, I’m made for delivering babies, just not being pregnant!

A week later, life is going as well as you could expect.  I feel better physically than I have in months, but now the mental drain is setting in.  It’s been a rough transition for the three year old who is used to being our one and only, I’m told that’s completely normal.  Today has been a good day with fewer tantrums than we’ve had in quite a while, so I’m hoping she’s getting used to the idea of being the big sister.   

2 Comments »

  1. hes beautiful!! sorry you had to get premclampsia again and deliver early but at least you have a very cute little man now at home!! congrats!

    Comment by christy davis — May 21, 2009 @ 3:39 pm | Reply

  2. Thank you! I was incredibly lucky with both pregnancies that my pre-eclampsia was mild. That being said, we’re not going to tempt fate a third time! I have two wonderful kids who I’m sure will keep me plenty busy for the next two decades!

    Comment by Mada — May 23, 2009 @ 2:26 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

