Chronicles of a Completely Unperfect Mom

June 17, 2008

Grocery Shopping and Dishes

Filed under: All About Mommy — Mom @ 2:50 pm

How sad is it that I have a day off, peanut is in school, and the two things I’m looking forward to are grocery shopping and dishes?  Shouldn’t I be lounging on the couch munching on something yummy and reading one of the books about to topple over on my to-be-read pile?

Grocery shopping will be the biggest part of my day by far!  First of all, I am going to actually look in my freezer, get rid of anything that is old or my mother brought by for us because she didn’t want to eat it.  I’m actually going to make a list of things I want to buy!  I won’t have a toddler asking if it’s time to go yet.  Then, when I get to the store, I won’t have said toddler fighting me on whether or not she can sit in the basket of the cart, whining to walk, whining to be carried, etc.  I will be able to get the things on my list without her asking for everything she sees that she likes.

Damn the marketers for putting cartoon characters on snack foods!  If they were truly concerned about kids eating healthy, there would be liver packaged in a Scooby Doo wrapper!

I will also do dishes without my “helper” today.  If she could understand that the dishes I put in the rinse sink get rinsed and the dishes in the drainer are already rinsed, we’d be good.  Unfortunately, she thinks the dishes in the drainer need to be rinsed and the dishes in the rinse sink need to be washed.  You can see how this quickly becomes a problem!

Most of the time, I let her help me and I keep working with her, praying she’ll understand someday.  I don’t want to banish her from the kitchen or make her think she can’t do it.  I know that I need to savor this time when she wants to help because right around the corner the fight will change to me wanting her to do things and her refusing.

Does being a mom ever make you wonder what in the hell happened to you??

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

