Chronicles of a Completely Unperfect Mom

April 8, 2008

Dealing with Sick Kids

Filed under: Sick Kids — Mom @ 2:10 am

It’s spring in Wisconsin, which can mean only one thing.  A wonderful cold to go along with the roller coaster temperatures.  This year, my little peanut got it first.  Apparently she is going to take after mommy and have a complete intolerance to drastic temperature shifts.

As cruddy as I feel, all I want to do is head to bed, curl up under the blankets, fire up the space heater, and sleep.  It’s 9pm and I’m only awake right now because I waited for Rick to get home before eating.  If he had been home earlier, I wouldn’t be up right now!  However, knowing that my little girl feels miserable, I’m fighting the urge to scoop her up and bring her to bed with me.  She bawled when I took her to bed, “No, I want bed with mommy!”, the most heart-wrenching thing a mother can hear.

I’m struggling because we’ve been working hard at getting her to sleep all night in her own bed.  Our queen size bed simply isn’t big enough for a size 18 mom, a big teddy bear of a dad, and a tall two year old.  And at least two of us are bed hogs!  The mommy side of me says that one night won’t hurt.  My head says it’ll be a set back.  My achy, snotty body says that I want a good night of sleep and that’s not going to happen with her sharing my bed.

Being a mom sucks sometimes!  I wish there was a way to make her all better.  I wish that my head, my heart, and my body all agreed on the right thing to do.  Tonight, I think the heart is going to win.  Perhaps I’ll come home from work and snooze before picking her up.  Not something I like to do, but life is about compromise.

1 Comment »

  1. You sound like an exceptional mommy to me. The fact that you considered all that shows it. A bad mommy wouldn’t care.

    Comment by mitchypoo — April 9, 2008 @ 6:29 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

